Skip to main content

The Memorial Hall Management Committee

The Deed of Gift from the Jesuits to the Parish Council of the land for the purposes of building a village hall also included how the hall management committee was to reflect community groups some of whom used the hall regularly, but others were stand-alone groups.

The original list read as follows:

  • St John’s Church
  • St Peter’s Guild
  • The Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley War Memorial committee
  • British Legion (Hurst Green Branch)
  • plus members of the public as voted on at the AGM

The current list of organisations, all of whom use the hall on a regular basis or are integral parts of the community, include:

  • The W.I. (Hurst Green)
  • St Joseph’s Youth Group
  • St Joseph’s RC Primary School
  • Toddlers Playgroup
  • Hurst Green FC
  • St John’s Church
  • Village Fete committee
  • The Bowling Club

Whilst they are delegates of their respective organisations, they are also responsible for the running of the hall from bookings, bar work, cleaning and looking after the building fabric.

In addition, we have three members of the public who have been elected to serve at the AGM

There are three main officers of the committee: Chair, Treasurer and Booking Clerk. The nominees are determined and voted on at the AGM.


All positions are unpaid.